Meet the Author ~ Violet Yates

Hello to Everyone!

I am Violet Yates, 38 years old and born and raised in Hawaii. A recent divorcee, I live on the Kona Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii. I often feel as if I’ve lived several lives! I have three children, two of whom are grown. My kids are my life and my solace. I am an author of several books, short stories, essays and about 100 poems. I own more books than I could ever read, but I keep collecting more.

I lived in Upstate New York for 10 years, and during that time I went back to school and earned my Bachelor’s degree in English, as well as my Master’s degree in Higher Education Administration. During that time, I wrote prolifically and am just now starting to edit and publish a lot of it. While in New York, I worked at MetLife as an accounting representative, I co-managed a Domino’s pizza and freelanced for a bi-monthly newspaper (in addition to being their circulation clerk).

I love, love, love to read, and I have wanted to be a published author since I was eight years old, when I wrote and colored a story and sent it in as a submission to Highlights magazine for children. This was my first rejection letter, the first of many. My first real novel, Beginnings, was really rough and contrived, and it did not get published, although I still have every single rejection letter (numbering in the hundreds, I believe!). Following this total rejection, I put myself back into college, determined to become a stellar writer.

After my husband and I separated, I stopped writing much of anything for years and drowned my sorrows in alcohol. Two and a half years ago, while living in the Berkshires of Massachusetts, I got into recovery. The last two years have been a journey of self-discovery. I have published a book of poetry, “Lost & Found,” as a tribute to that journey, and to Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior. While the struggle was indeed awful, I learned so much from those years and I wouldn’t go back and change a thing.

As mentioned in the previous paragraph, I have just published Lost & Found (last week), as well as a short story, “Forgotten Forest of the Innocent.” I wrote Forgotten when I was in college, as an escape from the drudgery of endless papers and reading assignments. I had this thought: what if a telephone found its way into a magical forest of fairies? What would the inhabitants’ reaction be? And Forgotten Forest of the Innocent was born. It wasn’t a conventional fairy tale; rather, it was a way to explore the affects of technology on our world, good or bad.

I hope to meet many of you and make friends during our time here! Thank you for reading!

Violet Yates

* I posted this on Amazon.com’s Meet the Author Forum and thought it would be a good idea to post it here, as well. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Meet the Author ~ Violet Yates

  1. sf says:

    How blessed you are to have 3 children and a master’s degree! I will turn 38 this weekend, but have no children, and am only completing an associate’s degree by the end of this month. I often feel like I’m trying to catch up with the other folks my age. Just wanted to letcha know that you’re a very blessed chick and ya inspire me! p.s. I consider Guam home, so we be both island-lovin’. Yeah!

    • Violet Yates says:

      Aww thanks! 🙂 My sons are grown and daughter lives with her dad, I have an empty nest and that is hard for me. I miss her so much.
      I know what you mean about ‘catching up’ to other folks your age, I felt the same way when I was in college, I finished in my early 30’s. I am currently disabled so I’m not using my education but I do write, which is a blessing and an outlet for my frustrations.
      Thanks ‘island gal.’ Glad to hear from you. ❤

Leave a Reply

