Cover for Tears of Heaven

I think I’ve found the cover for Tears of Heaven. My son’s girlfriend is a brilliantly gifted artist. She drew me a picture with pastels last summer, and I never really gave it a second thought. Tonight while considering what to use for my cover, I happened to glance at it. It is perfect. It is just stunning enough to grab someone’s attention and abstract enough to make someone want to look closer to see what it is. I feel really good about this.

Here’s the cover, like this or comment to let me know if you think I should use it:

 

Tears of Heaven, cover art by Laura Whitney

Blurb for novel:

Lena Ka’awa, a dark-haired Hawaiian beauty, takes on the powers of Pele, which causes catastrophe for Kaitlyn McDowell, and Ikaika Leahi. Tristan, Kaitlyn’s husband dies in a fiery car accident. Ikaika’s wife, Beth, and their child, Aolani, are also killed. The two, Kaitlyn and Ikaika meet up at the graveside and look to each other for friendship and comfort. Aolani is now a ghost with supernatural powers; she ‘pushes’ Kaitlyn to investigate the ‘accident’ further, causing them to suspect that Lena killed them… Tears of Heaven is set on the Big Island of Hawaii. It has a lot of Hawaiian culture and history in it, but it is classified as contemporary fiction.

2 thoughts on “Cover for Tears of Heaven

  1. SL Clark says:

    It’s an interesting image, a bit square to the eye in shape, books are rectangular like 6″x 9″… Also the text is hard to read, have you tried making the text black? All the best, -Steve

    • Violet Yates says:

      Hi,

      Not sure that I’m going to use it. I’ve asked the same artist to draw me something a bit more related to my plot, so we’ll see if she comes up with anything. I used black text at first, and someone suggested using white with the drop shadow technique. Then people started suggesting I use black. lol

Leave a Reply

