Magnificent Delight

This is a little daring and different than my usual poems, but I am exploring some new techniques and material. I hope you like it.

I absorb the burgeoning atmosphere that surrounds a surrealistic mango-hued sky,

How am I here, How am I?

The birds, they can take to the air and flutter about,

like winged fairies, darting, swooping here and there,

Caressing the air, until they flee danger, hearing a shout.

Yet I cannot fly, I stifle a gasp.

For a fiend has slinked and slithered in from the umbra,

His magnificent, eternal eyes foretold of his evil agenda.

I close down, wearing a mask, defenseless.

The forest, teeming with creatures all around, speaks in beastly whispers.

The ritual begins, the sun a golden pearl cradled under the sea.

She lies, ignorant in unknown ecstasy,

As the horned beast closes in, antlers high,

He has conquered, her innocence dies.

Then forbidden, now desired. Dominance. She now indulges in His eminence, the imminence of danger a delight

Leave a Reply

