Someone Who is Real

Sometime ago
You told me you would come to find me
You didn’t
But I never forgot thee
You always lived in my memory.

We both met other people
Fell in love
Got married
But those loves,
They fell apart
You were always deep
In my simple heart.

I had an opportunity
To come home for once
I saw you
& fell once more
Yet I was afraid
Because of all that was being said.

You said once, “don’t marry that man.”
I said,  “he gives me something you never can.”
I never once forgot you, however.
And for the future could not, no matter how I endeavored.

Despite the past
And pondering whether we would even last
I sought you.
And darned if it wasn’t a two-way street
We touched each other’s souls
Whenever we would meet
Never any deceit.

Now I see
How much I truly meant
And how far back affection really goes
I didn’t realize…
That our hearts had crashed long ago…
There’s significance in you.
You are the one I need

Oh M, you are to me,
What he should have been
But things happen the way they do.
And sometimes you have a soulmate or two…
Before you find someone who is Real.
I love you.

3 thoughts on “Someone Who is Real

Leave a Reply

